recipes, Savor, Thrive
Leave a Comment

4×3 – New Recipes: Black Bean Brownies

I’ve seen this recipe pop up multiple times over the past 3 years, always meaning to try it but never taking the time. It had gone out of my mind completely until a friend of a friend mentioned that she had just made a batch. So I looked up a recipe, realized I already had all the ingredients, and went for it.

While I was making the batter, I thought it looked delicious. But when I tasted it, I thought, this is going to taste like a nasty chocolate health cake. I had some difficulty in melting the chocolate chips, which sounds crazy, but they refused to melt, they just burned. I stirred in an extra 1/4 cup of chocolate chips to make up for the meltdown fiasco, and then threw some more on top after I tasted the batter and thought it was nasty.

It finally got in the oven, baked per the instructions, and cooled per the instructions. As I cut into it, I just shook my head, because as a picky baked goods eater, it looked like the texture of one of those prepackaged chocolate fudge cakes–super dense, but with that hyper-sweet and somewhat artificial flavor, slightly grainy. But to my surprise, and relief, it tasted AWESOME. As in, I will have to refrain from eating the entire pain and drinking half the carton of milk in my fridge.

So anyone hesitant at the thought of a black bean brownie, rest assured, they taste really good–not like beans at all–are nice and fudgy, and have extra fiber than your regular brownie.

DSC09515

Ingredients:

  • Butter, for greasing pan
  • 3/4 cup cooked black beans
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil, or olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee or espresso (I just poured in a bit of coffee leftover from the morning)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips, divided
  • 1/3 cup flour (I used GF all-purpose flour)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9 by 9-inch square baking pan.

In a blender, puree the beans with the oil. Add the eggs, cocoa, sugar, coffee, and vanilla. Melt half the chocolate chips and add to the blender. Blend on medium-high until smooth. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Add to the blender and pulse until just incorporated. Stir in the remaining chocolate chips. Pour into the prepared pan. Bake until the surface looks somewhat matte around the edges and still a bit shiny in the middle, about 20 minutes. Let cool at least 15 minutes before cutting and removing from the pan. Dust with confectioners’ sugar and serve.

Cook’s Note: Place a small cutout or stencil on the brownie before dusting to make a design.

Read more at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/melissa-darabian/black-bean-brownies-recipe/index.html?oc=linkback

DSC09516

Leave a Reply

