recipes
Leave a Comment

My First Stab at Cooking Ethiopian

Dating an Ethiopian man, whose friends are all Ethiopian (almost exclusively), means I’ve eaten a LOT of Ethiopian food. Mind you they don’t really cook it being that they’re all men and they have wonderful mothers who cooked for them all the time, and still do. So other than the chopping of raw meat and some tibs, we mostly went out to eat injera.

Well being back in the states in a city that’s not DC, there’s only a couple of restaurants, and given that it’s really a commodity, they can afford to charge much more than I would pay to eat the same thing when I was in Cape Town. So I decided I was going to try my hand at cooking some dishes at home. My favorites are beyanetu and shero, but don’t get me wrong, I love my meat as well. I’ve been wanting to learn how to cook shero and asked my boyfriend to ask his mother how she makes hers, since she owns a restaurant back in SA. But, of course, I was missing some ingredients. So after some online searching I found a website that ships berebere and shero and I got some coffee beans just for good measure.

I thought I’d make shero first, but recently my supervisor brought me a bag full of frozen lamb that she didn’t want to eat, so lamb tibs it was. She gave me the lamb ribs, which is awesome since they tend to be expensive, but they were SO fatty. I cut off as much of the meat as I could and left the rest to put in the oven (although I’m not sure how that’s going to come out with all that fat). I definitely didn’t make the best tibs I’ve ever eaten–it smelled really good–but then I again, I was getting directions from boyfriend via Skype, and like I said, he doesn’t really cook, so he couldn’t quite tell me which spices I should use. It’s all a learning process. It was still tasty, just missing some flavors. I bought (or rather got) some injera from Cafe Abyssinia and popped open a bottle of Abita. All in all a good end to a hectic day.

DSC08163
DSC08165

DSC08166

 

Time to eat!!

DSC08164

The rest of the lamb is going in the oven

Leave a Reply

