recipes
Leave a Comment

Blackberry Clafouti

Wholefoods had (is having) a sale on blackberries, so I bought up a bunch. But they’ve been sitting in my fridge, and I know how I buy things with good intentions to do something with them and never do until part of it starts to mold. Shame.

So this time I caught myself before any molding started. I thought maybe I’d just freeze them and use them in my morning smoothie, but I also wanted dessert (especially given my fridge stocked full of leafy greens after my trip to hollygrove market today). So I looked for easy recipes online that would require minimal ingredients, mostly because I didn’t want to go to the store again. And I found a recipe for clafouti, which apparently is a french dish. It’s apparently often served for breakfast, but there’s a lot of sugar in it, so we’ll call it dessert.

When it came out of the oven I thought for sure I’d made a mistake judging by the texture of the breading. In my head I had prepared myself for like a blueberry spongy cake like thing and this was meant to be more of a stiff pudding. Anyway, my fears were assuaged–it was delicious. The texture, although strange, works well with the blackberries.  The only thing I would change would be to use more blackberries 😛

  • Prep time: 15 minutes
  • Cook time: 40-45 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 T butter
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup granulated sugar, divided
  • 1 tablespoon blackberry brandy (or other appropriately flavored liquor such as kirsch, cherry liqueur, raspberry)
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest (rind)
  • 1 tablespoon freshly-squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour 
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 to 4 cups blackberries (fresh or frozen), divided*
  • Powdered sugar (confectioner’s sugar), for dusting

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Butter an ovenproof dish, deep dish pie plate, or cast-iron pan (at least 1 1/2-inches deep).

    Place eggs, 3/4 cup sugar, brandy, lemon zest, lemon juice, flour, and milk in a blender: puree till smooth.

    In a mixing bowl, toss the blackberries with the remaining 1/4 cup sugar. Place three-quarters of the blackberries and their juices in the bottom of the baking dish. Pour the batter over the fruit; arrange the remaining cherries on top.

    Bake for 40 to 45 minutes or until the top is brown and a knife inserted into the middle of the dish comes out clean. Remove from the oven and cool for 5 minutes before serving (cake will sink slightly).

    Sprinkle with powdered sugar over the top with a sieve. Serve the Blackberry Clafouti warm.

Leave a Reply

