Thrive
Leave a Comment

30 Day Challenge: Day 1

There’s a fitness website/blog that I follow called Body Rock TV, that posts daily fitness routines that can be done at home with little to no equipment. The workouts range in time from 4 – 20 minutes on average, or they’re time challenges. At the start of this new year, they started posting a fitness 30 day challenge, where everyday of the week for 5 days, there’s a new workout, and then 2 days of active rest. I wanted to start it with the start of the new year, but with all the travelling and trying to adjust to starting up the semester again, I’m just now starting today. But better late than never, right?

I had hoped to do this challenge in conjunction with a 30 day challenge to eat a vegan diet, but this past weekend I cooked a bunch of food for a cocktail party, which, of course, wasn’t vegan, and I have crazy leftovers that I don’t want to waste. So I guess once I run out of food I’ll stop buying animal products. Honestly, it’s not even the meat that will be the problem, it’s the dairy–really, cheese and butter for when I bake. But it will also be a nice challenge to start vegan baking I suppose.

The other challenge will be to not become a junk food vegan (you know, oreo cookies and chips), and to try not to eat a lot of over-processed vegan foods in the forms of faux meats and dairy foods as well. We’ll see how this goes. :/

Today’s workout: 7 Minute Fitness Test. 50 sec of work/10 sec rest

  1. Squat jumps: 28
  2. Push ups: 16
  3. Burpees: 10
  4. High Knees: 66 (1 rep = L&R)
  5. Switch lunges: 20
  6. Tuck Jumps: 15
  7. Straight Abs: 16
Leave a Reply

