Examine
Leave a Comment

Before the Ten Commandments…

there were the 42 principles of Ma’at, the Ancient Egyptian divine Principle of Truth, Justice, and Righteousness, and is the foundation of natural and social order and unity. These 42 principles pre-date the commandments by 2000 or so years, but they include almost all of the commandments.

These principles are much more explicit and demanding of morality, justice, and righteousness than the commandments alone (although the commandments in conjunction with the rest of the bible, should suggest the same level of morality, justice, and humanity)

The irony is that these principles were developed by Ancient Africans, who by all eurocentric, judeo-christian centered historical accounts (at least in the last century), were primitive and backwards, pre-dating civilization.

Well, you can read them for yourself and determine what’s more backwards: the explicit principles of Ancient Africans, or the loosely adhered to ten commandments by some (not all!) Christians who choose to interpret and twist them around usually only to suit their (un-christian) greedy and selfish motivations. We need to incorporate some of these principles into our daily mantras—maybe we would move more in the direction of truth and righteousness

**There are various versions only in the sense of how they were interpreted from 2000 b.c.e language to modern day language, but they all pretty much say the same thing**

1 I have not committed sin

2 I have not committed robbery with violence

3 I have not stolen

4 I have not slain men and women

5 I have not stolen food

6 I have not swindled offerings

7 I have not stolen from God

8 I have not told lies

9 I have not carried away food

10 I have not cursed

11 I have not closed my ears to truth

12 I have not committed adultery

13 I have not made anyone cry

14 I have not felt sorrow without reason

15 I have not assaulted anyone

16 I am not deceitful

17 I have not stolen anyone’s land

18 I have not been an eavesdropper

19 I have not falsely accused anyone

20 I have not been angry without reason

21 I have not seduced anyone’s wife

22 I have not polluted myself

23 I have not terrorized anyone

24 I have not disobeyed the law

25 I have not been excessively angry

26 I have not cursed God

27 I have not behaved with violence

28 I have not caused disruption of peace

29 I have not acted hastily or without thought

30 I have not overstepped my boundaries of concern

31 I have not exaggerated my words when speaking

32 I have not worked evil

33 I have not used evil thoughts, words or deeds

34 I have not polluted the water

35 I have not spoken angrily or arrogantly

36 I have not cursed anyone in thought, word or deed

37 I have not placed myself on a pedestal

38 I have not stolen that which belongs to God

39 I have not stolen from or disrespected the deceased

40 I have not taken food from a child

41 I have not acted with insolence

42 I have not destroyed property belonging to God

Leave a Reply

